Erin Fletcher : Fine Binding & Edition Binding

$195 — Workshop Fee
Registration closes on June 4th
Registration closes on June 8th
2 sessions:
June 15 & 16
(Saturday and Sunday mornings)

10:00am – 1:00pm (eastern time)
9:00 – 12:00pm (central time)
8:00 – 11:00am (mountain time)
7:00 – 10:00am (pacific time)
Workshop // Flatback Case Binding

Description
The Flatback Case Binding is one of the most common and recognizable structures today. In this workshop, students will learn foundational binding skills to assemble two different styles of covering known as quarter cloth and half cloth. The Flatback Case Binding is easy to construct and is perfect for small publications, artist books, journals and more.

This workshop will be live instruction through Zoom. Open to students at any skill level, but please contact me if you have questions determining if this workshop is right for you.

Skill Level: Beginner



Material Kit
The workshop fee includes a material kit, which will be shipped to you prior to the workshop. In order to receive the material kit on time, please register by June 4th. Below is a list of tools and materials that you must supply yourself.


Tools and Materials
Students must supply the following tools and materials. Check out the vendor list for recommended suppliers.

Required
  • Blue Tape
  • Bone Folder
  • Craft Knife (Olfa or X-Acto)
  • Cutting Mat
  • Decorative Paper - 1 or 2 sheets
  • Glue Brush - size: small and medium
  • Pencil
  • Pin Vise (size B) or Awl
  • PVA
  • Ruler - with metric
  • Sewing Needle - #18 blunt
  • Scissors
  • Triangle (45/90/45)
  • Waste Paper
  • Wax Paper

Optional
  • Punching Cradle
  • Beeswax


Reduced Rate Workshop Fee
Two seats are available at a reduced rate of $145. Please click on the button below to find out more information about how to submit. Application closed on May 15th.


Each Workshop is Recorded
All workshops will be recorded and made available to all registered students for a period of 90 days. A link to the recording will be sent out 1 day after it is recorded.


Refund Policy
No refunds will be issued once material kits are shipped or 10 days prior to the start of the workshop. Workshops will run with a minimum of 4 students, if this number is not met then a refund will be issued.