Erin Fletcher : Fine Binding & Edition Binding

$195 — Workshop Fee
Registration closed on October 14th
2 sessions:
October 24, 25
(Saturday & Sunday mornings)

10:00am – 12:30pm (eastern time)
9:00 – 11:30am (central time)
8:00 – 10:30am (mountain time)
7:00 – 9:30am (pacific time)
Workshop // Flatback Case Binding

Description
The Flatback Case Binding is one of the most common and recognizable structures today. In this workshop, students will learn foundational binding skills to assemble two different styles of covering known as quarter cloth and half cloth. The Flatback Case Binding is easy to construct and is perfect for small publications, artist books, journals and more.

This workshop will be live instruction through Zoom. Open to students at any skill level, but please contact me if you have questions determining if this workshop is right for you.

Skill Level: Beginner



Material Kit
The workshop fee includes a material kit which will be shipped to you prior to the workshop. In order to receive the material kit on time, please register by October 14th. Below is a list of tools and materials that you must supply yourself.


Tools and Materials
Students must supply the following tools and materials. Check out the vendor list for recommended suppliers.

Required
  • Cutting mat and Olfa knife (X-acto blade will also work)
  • Small glue brush (prefer a ½” flat paintbrush)
  • Large Glue brush
  • 12”/300mm ruler
  • Pin Vise (size B) or Awl
  • #18 blunt sewing needles
  • Bone folder
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • PVA
  • Waste paper
  • 1-2 sheets of Decorative Paper
  • Wax paper

Optional
  • Punching Cradle (optional, but will be very handy for this workshop)
  • Beeswax


For International Students
For students living outside of the United States, please contact me to secure your spot and pay the registration fee through PayPal (no account needed). Material kits will not be provided to international students, so the cost of the material kit will be deducted from the registration fee. I will provide a suggested list of materials, dimensions, and work with international students to source the materials.


Refund Policy
No refunds will be issued once material kits are shipped or 10 days prior to the start of the workshop. Workshop will run with a minimum of 4 students, if this number is not met then a refund will be issued.