Erin Fletcher : Fine Binding & Edition Binding

$325 — Workshop Fee
Registration closed on October 28th
4 sessions:
November 7, 8, 14, 15
(Saturday and Sunday mornings)

10:00am – 12:30pm (eastern time)
9:00 – 11:30am (central time)
8:00 – 10:30am (mountain time)
7:00 – 9:30am (pacific time)
Workshop // Limp Case Binding

Description
With the advent of printing in the 15th century books were printed in larger quantities creating a higher demand for bookbinders. Limp binding structures came about as a way for binders to quickly construct an elegant and durable binding for this new demand. This beautiful style of binding is suitable for conservation or new bindings. Students will learn the proper sewing pattern for this structure, create hand-sewn endbands and how to properly fold the cover before lacing in the text block.

In this workshop, students will learn the technique for constructing a Limp Case binding in either handmade paper or vellum.
Access to a sewing frame is required for the vellum version of this binding. Please choose either handmade paper or vellum at time of checkout.


This workshop will be live instruction through Zoom and is suitable to students with some bookbinding experience. Please contact me if you have questions determining if this workshop is right for you.

Skill Level: Intermediate



Material Kit
The workshop fee includes a material kit which will be shipped to you prior to the workshop. In order to receive the material kit on time, please register by October 28th. Below is a list of tools and materials that you must supply yourself.


Tools and Materials
Students must supply the following tools and materials. Check out the vendor list for recommended suppliers.

Required
  • Cutting mat and Olfa knife (X-acto blade will also work)
  • Small glue brush (prefer a ½” flat paintbrush)
  • 12”/300mm ruler
  • Pin Vise (size B) or Awl
  • #18 blunt sewing needles
  • Bone folder
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Paste
  • Waste paper
  • 18/3 Linen Thread
  • Japanese Screw Punch or Hollow Punch – 1 & 2mm (scrap board for punching)
  • 16 pieces of scrap paper cut to 10 x 180mm
  • Sewing frame: only required for vellum version

Optional
  • 4" Dividers
  • Beeswax
  • Punching Cradle
  • Triangle


For International Students
For students living outside of the United States, please contact me to secure your spot and pay the registration fee through PayPal (no account needed). Material kits will not be provided to international students, so the cost of the material kit will be deducted from the registration fee. I will provide a suggested list of materials, dimensions, and work with international students to source the materials.


Refund Policy
No refunds will be issued once material kits are shipped or 10 days prior to the start of the workshop. Workshop will run with a minimum of 4 students, if this number is not met then a refund will be issued.