Erin Fletcher : Fine Binding & Edition Binding

$250 — Workshop Fee
Registration closes on June 29th
3 sessions:
July 11, 18, 25
(Sunday mornings)

10:00am – 12:30pm (eastern time)
9:00am – 11:30am (central time)
8:00am – 10:30am (mountain time)
7:00am – 9:30am (pacific time)
Workshop // Quick Enclosures Series

Description
This workshop will focus on quick enclosures that can be constructed from sturdy paper and heavy cardstock. Many of the folding techniques presented in this workshop stem from origami, which have been further explored by the imitable Hedi Kyle. In addition, students will also learn how to construct paper slipcases and 4-flap enclosures often used in conservation.

We will discuss how to cut and measure for custom projects, however the kit will include a small blank book, which will be used to construct the enclosures during the workshop.

This workshop will be live instruction through Zoom. Open to students at any skill level, but please contact me if you have questions determining if this workshop is right for you.

Skill Level: Beginner



Material Kit
The workshop fee includes a material kit, which will be shipped to you prior to the workshop. In order to receive the material kit on time, please register by June 29th. Below is a list of of tools and materials that you must supply yourself.


Tools and Materials
Students must supply the following tools and materials. Check out the vendor list for recommended suppliers.

Required
  • 12”/300mm ruler
  • Cutting Mat and Olfa knife (X-acto blade will also work)
  • Scissors
  • Bone Folder
  • Pencil
  • PVA
  • Small flat paint brush (~1/2”)
  • Double Sided Tape (3M 415 Tape – ¼”)
  • Japanese hole punch with 1.5mm bit
  • Triangle with 90° angle


Offered for USA & International Students
You are welcome to sign up for this workshop regardless of your location. However, at this time kits will only be shipped to students within the US. If you are outside of the US, please email me directly in order to register and recieve information about prepping your own material kit.


Each Workshop is Recorded
All workshops will be recorded and made available to all registered students for a period of 30 days. A link to the recording will be sent out 1 day after it is recorded.


Refund Policy
No refunds will be issued once material kits are shipped or 10 days prior to the start of the workshop. Workshops will run with a minimum of 4 students, if this number is not met then a refund will be issued.